How To Balance Your Body With Yoga

ayurveda three body types

Individual parts or glands within the dosha will produce different types of hormones within the dosha. In the Hindu system, the three doshas correspond to human existence.

The ‘pristine’ dosha is considered to be the base or foundation of all life on the planet. This is also the thirteenth body or level on the spiritual ladder. The dosha is considered a ‘blocked’ gateway to spiritual reality. As such, the individual with this dosha must first undergo purification and then initiatory practices to prepare for higher levels of spiritual growth.


A close up of a hand

The ‘aldahara’ body types represent the subsequent three doshas. The Sanskrit word translated as ‘aldahara’ means “through the earth.” The word represents the third stage of spiritual development.

The three doshas are further subdivided into two general categories based on the physical components of each dosha. These are the nadis or the internal organs of the body and the area or the external or visible organs of the body. The names or the internal organs are classified into nadi, kundalini and kapha doshas.

Para Nadi

A screenshot of a video game remote control

The names or the internal organs of the body are classified into five kinds or doses according to their nadis, kundalini and alpha components. The first nadis or kundalini dish is called the ‘para nadi’ or the primary dosha. It represents the physical, mental and spiritual states that begin in the waking state. This is the first body type.

The next nadi pariksha or the secondary dosha is known as the ‘praja nadi’ or the ‘energetic body’. It is the physical, mental and spiritual state between the alpha and nadi pariksha that persists throughout life. This is the second body type.

Brahma Nadi

Finally, the last dosha or the ‘brahma nadi’ or the ‘hell body’ is the most powerful or the highest kapha in a person’s body type. It represents that which cannot be changed or influenced by the karmic consequences of past actions. This is the third body type in Ayurveda. It is the Akashic dosha that one experiences after experiencing death and attaining kama (perfect) happiness.

Each of these three body types or doses are said to be representative of the different levels of life. According to Ayurveda philosophy, we should be able to experience all three body types at every moment and this is the basic idea of Ayurveda. If you are not able to experience all three at any given time, then it is advisable for you to practice yoga or any other meditative technique that would help you reach kapha nadis faster. You can also employ dietary and lifestyle changes that will allow you to regularly reach kapha nadis. In addition to the dose model of Ayurveda, there are still many other models that have been developed over the years. These include the master kamas, games and sastras.

Traditional Ayurveda

In traditional Ayurveda, there are also three body types that are considered to be representative of past, present and future. The first body type is the Ashtanga dosha, which is representative of your physical and spiritual growth in life. The second body type is the Rajas dosha which represents the spiritual aspects of your personality and is representative of your aspirations and desires. The third and last is the Kapha Dosha which represents your destiny or your true path in life.

Yoga has many different practices that would be appropriate for each of the three body types. While you may focus on one practice during your yoga session, you should combine all practices so that you can fully experience each body. For example, you could start with yoga postures that are suitable for your first body type and continue from there. Similarly, as you grow in your yoga practice, you can combine chakras and yoga mantras so that you are able to improve in all areas of your life.

Seven Chakras

In traditional Ayurveda, it is believed that there are seven chakras or parts of the body that correspond to each of the three body types. If you are practicing Ayurveda, then you will want to pay attention to each of the seven chakras as well as each of the three body parts. In order to achieve balance in your body, you must be careful with the combination of foods and supplements you take.

Some people may find that certain kinds of foods or supplements do not fit properly into their diet and this could result in an imbalance that could lead to a disease or even cause the three body types to become imbalanced. In ancient Ayurveda, the idea is that all things in nature have their own unique energy that is magnetic in nature. When you are performing yoga, you will be working with this energy as you perform your poses.

Final Words

To achieve balance within your body, yoga is a great way to balance your chakras as well as balance your energy flow throughout the yoga poses. The benefit of yoga over traditional Ayurveda is that there is no blockage of any meridian as you focus on each chakra and the breath. This allows your energy to easily flow through your body, which is the energy of your true self.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter